March 31 - April 1, 2017 Singer Songwriter Competition

Entries accepted Jan 1 thru Mar 1, 2017

Official Rules for 2017 Contest

Entries accepted Jan 1 thru Mar 1, 2017

Click here!

The Don Gibson Singer Songwriter Symposium…

encourages the development of singer songwriters and honors the Shelby native who was a member of the Nashville Songwriter Hall of Fame, the Grand Ole Opry, and the Country Music Hall of Fame.

THE 2016 WINNER, Will Shehan


Will Shehan from Gaffney SC won with his song “Lost In Space”

Congratulations to Will for winning the Don Gibson American Music Foundation Singer Songwriters trophy and $1000.00.  Will also had the opportunity to open with his winning original song  “Lost In Space”at “Nashville Writers in the Round” event held at the Don Gibson Theatre in Shelby, NC on April 2, 2016 at 8 pm.

Thank you to all of the songwriters that entered and we hope to see everyone again next year.

Nashville Writers in the Round for 2017

View our 2017 Nashville Writers

Click here!

Meet the 2016 Singer Songwriter 12 finalists

We had so many great writers enter in 2016 it was hard to narrow it down to the finalists. Thank you to all that entered and congratulation to the finalists. Thank you our prelim judges for the hard choices it took to get to the final 12.

2016 finalists were:

Arvie Bennett Jr.  – Pelzer NC

Kevin Bridges – Shelby NC

Gene Cox – Boiling Springs NC

Al Dunkleman – Shelby NC,

Josh Hudson – Lawndale NC

Mark Hutchins – Forest City NC

Connie Jarzyna – Shelby NC

Ken Kiser – Arden NC

Laura Rabell – Charlotte NC

Will Shehan  –  Gaffney SC

Steve Simpson  – Rock Hill SC

Timothy Scott Williams  – Charlotte NC

3 Alternates

Michael Blanton –  Bostic NC

Luke Edwards  – Shelby NC

Phil Ruff – Rutherfordton NC.

Thank you for sharing your talent with us1